Consequences Of An Assault IV Conviction In Washington
If you’re charged with Assault IV Domestic Violence in Washington, you might be wondering what happens next. Disputes may quickly develop, and before you know it, the cops are knocking on your door. To defend against the lawsuit, you must first understand what this charge entails.
Many people are attending court for the first time. They don’t know what the future holds for them. Consult and learn more about what legal options are available to you before pleading guilty
Am I going to jail?
Due to Washington’s mandatory arrest rule, many persons have already spent at least one night in jail at the start of the case. However, based on the details of the case and any prior criminal history, a judge may impose further jail terms.
If convicted, assault IV domestic violence may be punished by up to 364 days in prison and a $5,000 fine. Instead of jail, judges have the authority to sentence someone to electronic home confinement or work crew (community service in some cases).
What is the status of probation?
Probation is required for an Assault IV Domestic Violence conviction. You may be subject to a No Contact Order, court-ordered counseling, court costs, and regular reporting to a probation officer during this period. Violations of these probationary terms may result in additional court appearances, jail time, or other penalties.
As a result, it’s crucial to understand how probation works so your case can be resolved as quickly as possible. Your lawyer will know how to present your case to the prosecution and the court in the most effective way possible.
A competent defense attorney can help you reduce the length of your probation, argue against a No Contact Order, lower your court fines, and reduce any reporting obligations.
Am I liable for court costs?
If you are convicted of Assault IV Domestic Violence, the court has the right to impose a $5,000 fine. Domestic violence cases may have hidden charges, such as classes and treatment, pretrial monitoring fees, and other court costs, in addition to the $5,000 maximum penalties. Make sure your lawyer discusses the financial implications of a criminal charge.
Will I be required to attend counseling?
If found guilty of an Assault IV Domestic Violence Charge, your judge may require you to attend domestic violence treatment, anger management courses, or drug or alcohol classes.